Skinnygirl Margarita Toronto Launch – June 17 2011 – Summerhill LCBO

At long last it has arrived, Skinnygirl Margarita is here in Canada! And what is it you may ask?

Skinnygirl Margarita priced in Ontario at $15.95/750 ml bottle, is a ready-to-serve cocktail made with natural flavours, lightly sweetened with agave nectar, and made with premium Blue Agave Tequila. It has 110 calories per 4.2 ounce/125 ml serving. But does it taste good?

Ahhh yeah! Why do you think I’m going nuts over this product? And did I mention that its has only 110 calories per 4.2 ounce/125 ml serving? Basically all you do is shake it with ice & you’re all set. If you’re a margarita fan or don’t know if you’re a margarita fan you’ll be happy to know that a typical restaurant version packs a whopping 500 calories or more in a 4 ounce cocktail.

So why is this such a big deal? Because not only is it fan-friggen-tabulous but it was created  in 2009 by Bethenny Frankel, a renowned natural foods chef, three time New York Times Best Selling Author AND the star of “Bethenny Getting Married” and “Bethenny Ever After” AND she was on the Bravo hit series “The Real Housewives of New York”. Frankel, who calls herself a “health foodie” not only knows how to make healthy food, but she knows how to make healthy food taste good. In March 2011, Skinnygirl Cocktails was acquired by Beam Global Spirits & Wine. Frankel will continue to serve as the committed brand collaborator, developer and marketer.

Aside from this genius and delicious idea Frankel has become a true inspiration for women like me who want it all. By putting her entire life story on TV and in her book “A Place of Yes: 10 Rules for Getting Everything You Want Out of Life”, she has shared her own challenges, pitfalls, and successes.

Well there you have it Canada! Skinnygirl Margarita will being appearing on liquor store shelves across Canada this summer, starting in the provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario and Saskatchewan in June 2011.

Have you tried Skinnygirl Margarita? If so, I would love to hear your review.

Enjoy,

Cindy

19 Responses to “Skinnygirl Margarita Toronto Launch – June 17 2011 – Summerhill LCBO”

  1. Love the review, love the pics, but I just don’t love the Skinnygirl Margarita. While I admit that I only had a few brief sips, I will tell you that two sips was all it took. It tasted like a watered down lemonade and had absolutely no kick of tequila. If they called it something other than a margarita, then perhaps I wouldn’t be so harsh. This stuff makes Zima look good (and Zima is pretty god awful!). MIke’s Hard Lemonade is 220 calories for a 12 ounce serving and it tastes MUCH better. Just my opinion. :)

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • Hey G-Lo! Thanks for your comment. I do agree Skinnygirl Margarita is a very light tasting tequila cocktail. I’m sure it’s not everyone’s cup of tea. See I personally cannot stand Mikes Hard Lemonade for the sheer fact that it’s way too sweet. Two of those & I’ll wake up with a wicked headache in the morning. And as for Zima, girl I can’t believe you even brought that up. How awful is that drink? Lol! I remember when that dross came out. Hahahahaha! Anyhow do you make your own Margarita’s at home? If so, send me your recipe. Would love to try it out! Or if you have a recommendation on where to get a fab margarita send me the details. Thanks again G-LO!

      Enjoy,
      Cindy

      • Yo Cindy!

        Here’s a great margarita recipe from the people at Cook’s Illustrated. It’s a bit involved, but oh so worth it!

        Margarita

        4 teaspoons grated lime zest
        1/2 cup lime juice from 2 to 3 medium limes
        4 teaspoons grated lemon zest
        1/2 cup lemon juice from 2 to 3 medium lemons
        1/4 cup superfine sugar
        pinch table salt
        2 cups crushed ice
        1 cup 100% agave tequila , preferably Reposado
        1 cup Triple Sec

        Instructions:

        Combine lime zest and juice, lemon zest and juice, sugar, and salt in large liquid measuring cup; cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until flavors meld, 4 to 24 hours.
        Divide 1 cup crushed ice between 4 or 6 margarita or double old-fashioned glasses. Strain juice mixture into 1-quart pitcher or cocktail shaker. Add tequila, Triple Sec, and remaining crushed ice; stir or shake until thoroughly combined and chilled, 20 to 60 seconds. Strain into ice-filled glasses; serve immediately.

        Cheers!
        G-LO

      • Wicked. Thanks G-LO! I’ll try this out on the weekend when I have company. Might have to sub the sugar with agave nectar or splenda though. I’ll post a review. :-)

        Enjoy!
        Cindy

      • One more thing about the Skinnygirl Margarita… even my wife and mother-in-law (lightweights extraordinaire!) thought they were kinda bland and ho-hum.

      • It’s not for everyone. But I think what some people are forgetting that it’s a “light” cocktail. Personally every ready-to-serve cocktail I’ve had is way too strong and/or crazy sweet. However the great thing about making your own is you can control all of these elements right down to the temperature & esthetics.

        Enjoy,
        Cindy

      • Very true. Home made is always better when you have a great recipe. :)

  2. Skinny Girl is a great image drink, but for the real deal and full sized drink the locally made Black Fly Tequila Margarita kicks some butt. Some people like the lighter, watery version of what true flavour should be…and thats all good!

    Calorie wise if you do the math, Skinny Girl in comparision with other similar drinks isn’t really that low. 4 oz is a tiny drink and if you were to have a regular 330 mL drink Skinny Girl would be over 200 calories.

    Give the Black Fly Margarita a try and see what you think before going simply for TV branding.

    Thanks for the review and the blog,

    Shanna

    • Hi Shanna!

      Thanks so much for your feedback & recommendation. Not sure where you are located but can I get Black Fly Margarita in Toronto? I would love to check it out.

      I first heard about Skinnygirl Margarita when Bethenny Frankel shared her recipe on The Real Housewives of New York I then tried out the recipe & loved it. After that I heard about the official Skinnygirl Margarita, I tried it too! Again I loved it. This is definitely my kind of cocktail. It’s light & not overly sweet, very limey & not served in a giant oversized mug or glass.

      As far as calories are concerned even a 5 ounce glass of Skinnygirl Margarita is similar to a standard 5 ounce glass of white wine which is something I drink.

      So although yes I did hear about Skinnygirl Margarita via TV (branding if you will) I did test out the original recipe & ready-to-serve mix before arriving to “my own” decision. ;-)

      Enjoy,
      Cindy

  3. Cindy, could you please tell me how to find my photo with Bethenny that was taken at the LCBO?

  4. we want it here —- Fredericton New Brunswick!!!!! please!!!!

  5. I am dying to try this drink! I have seen it on the episodes and want to know when it will be coming to halifax, please don’t keep us waiting!!! Thank you

  6. For a light margarita, I would expect more of a kick for the price that is charged here in Winnipeg Canada. $16.95 plus taxes!!! I make my own and it is far cheaper but I still love Bethenny.

  7. please tell me the recipe for Bethany’s margarita that she had on the real housewives show. I would like to make it at home.

  8. I am drinking a Black Fly margarita right now and it is so far the best one I have found…not too sweet. I dont know how many calories but dont really care. It is great!

  9. Excited to know that skinny girl will be available un Canada. Just love bethanny.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

